New York City Hit and Run Accident Attorney
The New York City Lawyers to Call after a Hit and Run
New York law allows you to file a legal claim for compensation against a person who negligently caused an accident and injuries. But what happens when you can’t identify the driver responsible for your car accident because they decided to flee the scene?
It is against the law to leave the scene of a car accident, yet tens of thousands of motorists do so every year in New York City. This shocking behavior leaves many accident victims in a lurch, since they can’t identify who is at fault for their injuries. Fortunately, New Yorkers do have options for receiving compensation. Contact a New York City hit and run accident attorney at Lipsig, Shapey, Manus & Moverman for more information about your specific options.
Every driver must carry at least $50,000 in personal injury protection benefits, commonly called PIP. You can use these no-fault benefits if you are victimized in a hit and run crash. To make a claim, collect proof of your economic losses, such as your medical bills, receipts for prescription drugs, and pay stubs showing lost wages. You will then submit them to your PIP insurer to receive compensation.
Unfortunately, most people do not carry more than the minimum $50,000 in PIP benefits, which is wholly inadequate if you have suffered a devastating injury like paralysis or third-degree burns.
Our state also requires that New York drivers carry uninsured motorist coverage, with up to $25,000 in coverage per person. You can rely on this insurance if you have unmet expenses after a hit and run. In total, you should be covered for up to $75,000 in losses in the event you can’t identify who caused your crash.
New York recognizes that crime - such as leaving the scene of an accident - can take a financial toll on its victims, so it has created a compensation fund that will pay out money to victims. This might be an option if you were the victim of a hit and run and cannot locate the perpetrator.
To make a claim, you must cooperate with law enforcement and report the crime within seven days. You then have one year to make a claim for compensation. A hit and run attorney in Brooklyn, Queens, or the Bronx can help you determine if this is an option for you.
New York Insurance Law 5208 requires that you report a hit and run accident within 24 hours or as soon as reasonably possible. Avoid delay. Contact the police to report the accident and contact your insurer as well to protect your rights and comply with the law.
Being the victim of a hit and run can be an enraging experience. Left behind with massive expenses, you are probably worried about how you will pay your bills and provide for your family. Fortunately, motorists do have the options listed above, though they might struggle to get their insurer to pay out on a policy.
If you are negotiating with an insurance company, or if you have managed to identify the hit and run driver, please reach out to us today. Lipsig, Shapey, Manus & Moverman is a leading law firm in the city that has helped hundreds of accident victims get the compensation they are entitled to.
Schedule a free consultation with one of our hit and run attorneys in New York City by calling 212-285-3300 or sending us an online message.